When no one is Looking.

Recently at the NPC Stewart Fitness Championship; during the Athletes Meeting; an experienced body builder gave a pep talk. I loved his main message, which was 

People are going to look up to you.  So know what you do matters because people are watching you.  But remember that what you do when no one is looking is equally as important.

I have the luxury of having full days to myself.  Today is one such day.  No one is here to see what I do, what I eat, whether or not I work out.  As I was working on contracts for my business this morning, I thought about the above statement.  No one knows I was up at 7am working, or that I ate my meals when I was suppose to, or that I cleaned the kitchen and did laundry; no one was here to see me leave for the gym and return home swimming in my own sweat.  But when my clients receive their contracts in the mail, they will know that I worked hard.  My stomach knows it was fed yummy food because it has not growled all day.  My husband will know that I did housework when he has clean clothes.  The people next to me at the gym know that I don’t take working out lightly when they see me running at a 15% incline.

Whether we realize it or not, everything we do affects those around us, sometimes directly and sometimes indirectly.  So be the positive energy in the room.  Even if you are the only one there.

Image

Leave a Reply

