You are what you EAT.

So today was grocery day.

It can not be stressed enough…how important proper nutrition is…to achieving fitness goals.  Whether you are competing in the NPC, training for a marathon, or simply want your jeans to fit better; nutrition is key.   Your body requires a base amount of calories to function daily, that number goes up with actives you do (weight lifting, running, cycling).  The break down of these calories (Protein/Carbohydrates/Fats) is called Macronutrients.  Most people give carbs and fat a bad rap…which is to bad.  I’m not a nutritionist, so I’m not going to get all technical on you, but I am a person who has always been in shape, always had flat abs, and always eaten carbs and fat.  I will tell you what I do…

Image

 

1.  I follow my macronutrients for Protein and Carbohydrates.  1-1.5g of protein per lb of body weight.  I weigh 95lbs, so my protein intake is 95-143g per day. 1.5-2g of carbohydrates per lb of body weight.  So at 95lbs, my carb intake is 143-190 per day.  I don’t really pay attention to fat, because I eat only healthy fats.  And I am lucky enough to have never had to worry about fat.  But EVERYBODY is different, I am just telling you what I do.

2.  Use websites like http://www.thedailyplate.com to track your macros.  This website is awesome because not only does it let you search a huge database to input what you eat, it shows you the macro breakdowns.  SO you know when you have hit your numbers, and whether you can eat 1 or 2 servings of those Organic Blue Chips (YUM).  It also lets you input your exercise for the day, so you can eat more calories, the more active you are.  If you are looking to lose weight, you can track your progress as well.

3. Drink LOTS of water.  

4. Take a good multi-vitamin made from real food.  My stomach has had a hard time in the past with synthetic made vitamins.  But I have no problems with the above.

5.  Don’t buy crap food.  If you don’t have crap food in your house, you won’t eat it.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy junk food every now and then, but I don’t keep it in my house.  If you have a sweat tooth, there are some great protein cookies out there that taste just good, if not better, than a processed cookie.

I will wrap this up with a few of my daily habits.

1. I use olive oil on everything.

2. I eat 5-6 meals a day.

3. I eat a large salad (romaine lettuce, spinach, red onions, avocado, sometimes turkey bacon, and organic dressing) at both lunch and dinner.

4. Every meal has both protein and carbs.

5. Both lunch and dinner have at least 2 veggies.

6. I know it’s a pain, but I have a scale and weigh all my food.

 

Hope that someone out there finds some of this information helpful.  If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask.  

HAPPY EATING.

2 thoughts on “You are what you EAT.

  1. kwarren1970

    It is also important to mention that what people eat regularly is what affects their health. Food is medicine! Eat crap, feel like crap or promote crappy diseases like cancer, heart disease, diabetes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

