New River Trail 50K

Image

This will be the 3rd year Jon and I attend the New River Trail 50K ultra run.  The first year, without much training, I did it in 5:54:50.   My strategy was how many 10 minute miles can I do.  I followed a simple formula:  every 1/2 mile drink water, and every half hour eat (I alternated between bean burritos and gu).  Below is a picture of my homemade burritos.

Image

 

The 2nd year I trained, and my marathon split was 4:28:07, and overall time was 5:22:46.  I followed the same simple formula described above.   Jon finished before I did, and made sure George was at the finish line to greet me.

Image

Unfortunately, due to an upcoming NPC Competition, I will not be running this year.  But I will be there to support Jon and volunteer.   I am also making 2 of the Awards for the Category Winners.  I love silversmithing and running, so was very excited to make these.   I start with sheet plate sterling silver, stamp and cut pieces, then solder, drill hole, add jump ring, acid, and then polish.

Image

 

Finished product.

 

Image

 

Image

 

For those of you who have never done an ultra run, it is quite a thrilling feeling.  Not just finishing, but embracing your inner strength and conquering 32.2 miles in a single bound.  Like all goals accomplished in life, it fills up your “I can do anything I set my mind to” tank, and spills over into all areas of your life.   Happy Running.

Leave a Reply

